Festival BA

The World tango dance tournament (in Spanish: Campeonato Mundial de Baile de Tango, also known as Mundial de Tango) is an annual competition of Argentine Tango, held in Buenos Aires, Argentina, usually in August, as part of the Buenos Aires Tango Festival organized by the city’s government.

The competition consists of two categories: “Tango de Pista” (Salon Tango), which has strict rules about the usage of traditional milonga figures, and “Tango Escenario” (Stage Tango), which is more choreographic and includes elements from other dance disciplines, such as ballet. Previously the competition was only open to couples consisting of men and women but in 2013 the rules were relaxed to allow same gender couples (man dancing with man, or woman with woman) to enter the competition.

The World Cup competition is the final leg of a series of pre-competitions held around the world starting from March. Traditionally the city of Buenos Aires and various municipalities choose their own “Municipal” champions who get wildcards into the final rounds. The same wildcard advantage is also given to national or regional champions of recognized competitions; in 2015 these include Uruguay (UY), Chile (CL), Brazil (Rio de Janeiro, BR), USA (US), Russia (RU), China (CN), Tokyo(JP), Seoul(KR), France (Paris, FR), United Kingdom (London, UK), EU (Todi, Italy)

Festival Hamburg

For the first time the Tanzschule Movimientos as an Official Branch of Tango BA Festival & Dance World Cup, will host the 4-day festival and Championship in Hamburg from the 8th to 11th June 2017.

The Tango Championship has two categories Tango Pista & Stage and is open to residents of 12 European countries accredited to Germany, Spain, France,

Russia, Holland, Denmark, Poland, Czech Republic, Austria, Switzerland, Slovenia, England.

> Eligibility to Enter

> Stages

> Judging Criteria

> Results

> Registrationform

Sponsors and Partners

Follow us on Facebook!

Logo Consulado esp
Screenshot 2017-04-18 02.26.23
Miguel Mancera